Caramelized Mushrooms and Spelt Dumplings

Yesterday afternoon I was feeling particularly antsy as my spring break is nearly over.

nooooo! ūüė¶

This antsiness is what led me to drag my sweetheart out to Malo in Silverlake for cocktails late (9:30pm) friday evening. ¬†I¬†rarely drink more than half a glass of wine, but I couldn’t resist trying some of the fancy looking cocktails. ¬†I had one and a half small drinks and felt¬†HORRIBLE the next day!

I’m not sure if it was the cocktails, or that maybe I ate something funny that evening, but the following morning I felt like crapola. ¬†Regardless, I had to take advantage of my rare free time and enjoy the outdoors to work out.
I was able to drag my butt out of bed by 11 and head to the Rose Bowl to run. ¬†This run just didn’t feel¬†right at all. ¬†I kept it fairly slow but was really happy when it was over.

Garmin stats:

31:48.7

3.74 mi

8:30/mi

380 cal

This was followed by a¬†very low effort Jillian Michaels 6 week Six Pack. ¬†When you work out after an unhealthy evening or day, do you ever feel itchy? ¬†This¬†always¬†happens to me, it’s almost as if my body is getting rid of all the crap I ate. ¬†OR it’s as if my body is punishing me for treating it poorly. ¬†BUT the most likely reason is just that I have super sensitive, naturally itchy skin that isn’t used to salty sweat after taking a day off.

After slothing around, I built up the gusto to make Joy the Bakers Caramelized Mushrooms and Dumplings.  This was SO DELICIOUS!

If you’ve never visited the Joy the Baker blog, you have to head over there RIGHT NOW! ¬†All of her recipes are sure-fire successes, really tasty, and perfect for entertaining. ¬†Also, she has a really readable and witty style of blogging that makes you want to be her best friend.

I veganized her dumpling recipe and cut down on the refined white flour, and this was actually successful!  They were soft, flakey, and super scrumptious.

Veganized Joy the Baker Dumplings
1 cup spelt flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup all purpose white flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons granulated sugar (or turbinado sugar)

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 chopped fresh chives

5 tablespoons earth balance margarine (super cold)

2 flax eggs (2 tbs ground flax whisked with 4-5 tbs water)

3/4 cup unsweetened plain almond milk

1 tbs apple cider vinegar

First add the apple cider vinegar to the almond milk, this will curdle the almond milk and give it a similar consistency to buttermilk.

In a medium bowl whisk together all of the dry ingredients. ¬†Add the flax egg to the almond milk+vinegar mixture and whisk. ¬†Combine the wet and dry ingredients. ¬†Make sure everything is moistened but not over-mixed. ¬†Pour out the biscuit dough onto a floured work surface and knead together the dough, pressing it out until it’s about 1 1/2 inches thick.

Cut out the biscuits using a 1 1/2 inch biscuit cutter. ¬†Place biscuits onto a a cookie sheet, I covered mine with foil and didn’t need to oil it. ¬†Place into the¬†refrigerator¬†until ready to bake.

Dry ingredients ready to go!

Dry ingredients
ready to go!

All rolled out

All rolled out

Ready to bake!

Ready to bake!

Chop chop

Chop chop

Then I moved on to the rest of the recipe and drooled over how delicious these mushrooms looked for the next hours.

photo 2-7

photo 3-7

Woa-YUM

This was a surprisingly easy, tasty, and pretty healthy recipe.  The entire recipe only had a few tablespoons of olive oil.  I veganized the rest of the recipe simply by leaving out the butter.  This recipe was also perfect because LA has been very overcast for the past few days.

You should give it a try! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

