I’m on a roll: Sun Cafe

Still riding the blogging train: I’m already ready for another post!

James and I typically try to frequently visit new veggie restaurants, but can sometimes get stuck in a rut. Oftentimes you don’t want to take the risk of wasting money on something that is not perfectly tasty.  Well, we stepped out of our comfort zone of eating at the Veggie Grill every weekend and tried something new.  I’m so glad that we did!

Francis, from The Foodess Files (a must read if you love food), had recommended Sun Cafe AGES ago but I never could really bring myself to drive all the way out to the Valley (for non-academic reasons) until this weekend.

Los Angeles was pretty overcast this weekend, meaning that the Valley might be less than 8,000 degrees and tolerable for a lunch visit.  For those of you not familiar with the area, the Valley is typically hotter than the sun and you can expect to be completely drenched in sweat the second that you step outside no matter what time of year/day it is.  Am I being melodramatic?  Maybe.

Back to the point, Sun Cafe was so delish.  It was the perfect place to visit when you want to healthfully indulge without spending an arm and a leg.  Did I mention that I’m cheap?

Now, Francis had recommended their smoothies, specifically the Kale Smoothie, but I decided to save that for another day.  I couldn’t resist the BLT sandwich and raw chocolate chip cheesecake.  James got the Fiesta Burger, which I nearly ate half of by sneaking in bites off his plate.  My sandwich was tempeh bacon with lettuce and tomato served on a yummy sprouted wheat bun.  James’ Fiesta Burger was a SunBurger (their signature veggie burger and so delectable), guacamole, pico de gallo and all of that good stuff.

BLT sandwich with a side of veggies and a Kombucha.  I couldn't resist immediately taking a bite before even snapping a pic. This sandy didn't stand a chance.

BLT sandwich with a side of veggies and a Kombucha. I couldn’t resist immediately taking a bite before even snapping a pic. This sandy didn’t stand a chance.

Chocolate Chip Cheescake.  This is a raw vegan cheesecake so it's made from nuts and other yummies.  Really tasty, but DEFINITELY for sharing.  I'm sad to say that James and I were BARELY able to finish it.  Must-stretch-belly

Chocolate Chip Cheescake. This is a raw vegan cheesecake so it’s made from nuts and other yummies. Really tasty, but DEFINITELY for sharing. I’m sad to say that James and I were BARELY able to finish it. Must-stretch-belly

Besides just having delicious food, the service was great and really quick.  Everyone was really friendly, which is definitely a plus when dining in LA.  We’ll be back!

Thanks for the rec, Franny!

Couldn't resist taking a selfie. I was too shy to ask anyone to take our picture, so J had the brilliant idea of using this storefront window.  It was some sketchy video store, which is even more sketchy given the fact that we were in the valley.

Couldn’t resist taking a selfie. I was too shy to ask anyone to take our picture, so J had the brilliant idea of using this storefront window. It was some sketchy video store, which is even more sketchy given the fact that we were in the valley.

3711 Cahuenga Blvd W
Studio City, CA 91604

(818) 308-7420

Leave a Reply

